How to Get a Divorce in Pennsylvania without a Lawyer

In AP, alimony is provided after divorce and is purely discretionary, which can make it a big sticking point. The laws list 17 different factors that a judge uses to determine support payments, and these should also be assessed as part of mediation. A debt-based divorce is often a controversial divorce. Therefore, couples may need to go to court to fight it. These divorce proceedings are usually lengthy and costly. Mutual Consent – An amicable divorce is granted when it is alleged that the marriage was irretrievably broken and 90 days have elapsed from the date of commencement of a lawsuit and an affidavit has been filed by each of the parties proving that each party agrees to the divorce. This is called a divorce under paragraph 3301(d). If you`re negotiating your divorce, it`s best to wait until your marriage agreement is final before applying for a divorce decree. This is because you will need to attach a settlement agreement to your divorce forms. If you try to submit before all your terms are final, you run the risk of missing a deadline and having to start all over again. Yes, absolutely. In Pennsylvania, filing divorce as a DIY process (called “pro se”) is a 3-step process with strict deadlines and forms that must be completed 100% accurately, or they are returned.

If you are considering a divorce in Pennsylvania, you can do so with or without a lawyer. However, they are bound to the same standard as lawyers. You must follow national and local rules. There are two types of divorces in Pennsylvania: no fault/mutual consent 3301(c) and no fault/applicable separation date 3301(d). Below is some basic information about divorce law in Pennsylvania. For more information about divorce, including the risks of getting your children out of the state while a divorce is in progress, visit our general divorce page. To watch short videos on divorce in Spanish with English subtitles, go to our videos page. Finally, learn more about the trial on our court preparation page – From Yourself. Only 1 spouse must have been a resident of PA for at least 6 months, and it is not necessary to be a resident of the county to file for divorce in that county. A small note to know is that filing for divorce in Montgomery County or Potter County tends to be easier than filing in other AP counties. Since you may be in a state of shock, denial, or outrage, you may also want to consider contacting a divorce coach or therapist who can help you understand what happened and prepare emotionally for divorce by being in the right mood to talk to a lawyer and move forward. If you and your spouse agree to the divorce, as well as the terms of the divorce, refer to 3301(c).

Do you think you have protected yourself by putting assets just in your name? Think again. It doesn`t matter if the new car you bought is entitled to you and not to your spouse. If it was purchased during marriage, it will most likely be considered matrimonial property in a pennsylvania divorce. Your ex is now entitled to 1/2 of the value of the car you worked so hard for. However, it can be argued that your ex is not entitled to value for a number of reasons. The fact is that if you don`t have a lawyer defending you, the arguments can get lost. Say goodbye to this sweet ride. All erroneous divorces require testimony in court and an appearance by the client. No-fault divorces do not require appearing in court. The reasons for fault as the basis for divorce in Pennsylvania are obsolete. In Pennsylvania, a judge may find that after a divorce, one spouse must pay money to the other, which is called alimony.

In general, the judge decides whether and how much support should be paid, depending on whether it is reasonable and necessary.1 Unlike alimony and matrimonial property, alimony and custody do not need to be included in a divorce action. These issues may be decided at any time and in separate legal proceedings. The legal grounds for a guilt-based divorce are desertion for a year or more, bigamy, adultery, imprisonment for two years or more for convicting a crime, humiliation (any ongoing behaviour that makes the applicant`s life unbearable) and cruel treatment that poses a threat to the applicant`s life or health. 1) if you and your spouse want divorce (contested or uncontested) A guilty divorce occurs when one of the spouses has ended the marriage. Pennsylvania has six grounds for divorce based on errors. These include: The legal term for self-representation is “pro se”, pronounced “pro say”), which is Latin for “in your own name”. Representing yourself is not a good idea for everyone. It is important to understand that if you represent yourself, you may be giving up important rights.


Posted in:
Articles by